Tuesday, March 31, 2015

#BookReview: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

On the jacket:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Review:

This book arrived home when I was desperately looking for a feel-good book to read. My idea of feel-good here is a book that makes me feel better, the content needn't be feel-good. I had also read rave reviews about All The Bright Places, so obviously had a good amount of expectations peppered with curiosity.

Violet Markey and Theodore Finch's story, this books begins with a line that opens a lot of probabilities to follow in the pages to come - Is today and good day to die? Violet and Finch meet when dealing with major problems of their own and it's only with each other when they can be themselves and deal with all their problems. 

Violet and Finch are opposite yet similar. While she is popular yet a people pleaser; he is brash and goes out of the way to hurt people. Yet, both need saving. It was in an instant that I could identify with both the characters, we either know them or we are one of them. The story is that realistic. Jennifer Niven has done a very fine job in building the characters.

All the Bright Places isn't as happy a story as the title suggests. It broke my heart, to be honest. Beautifully written, this story grips the heart. It has left me in awe, a little heart-broken and sad, yet feeling oh so wonderful. You know how at times something is so sad that you cry buckets, yet you feel good that your cried? That's exactly what this book did to me.  

Rating: *****/5

No comments:

Post a Comment

#BookReview: Turtles All The Way Down

On the jacket: Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hun...