Wednesday, November 20, 2013

#BookReview : Night Film by Marisha Pessl

On the jacket:

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Review:

When I took Night Film in my hand to read, I was overwhelmed by it's size. I flipped through the pages, and even before I started reading, I guessed how detailed it is. From the moment I read the first page to the last, I moved from my place only because I was hungry or had things to do. And during those (almost) three days, I would go around double checking the doors and windows; thankfully my beds are built such that I don't need to check under them.

Horror movie director Stanislas Cordoza's musician daughter Ashley dies under mysterious circumstances. There is a lot of hidden secret and haze, about the Cordoza family. While the police has let go of the case as a suicide, investigative journalist Scott Mc Grath, who has a history with the Cordoza's decides to investigate Ashley's death.

Amazing narration, it will keep your eyes glued to the page you are reading and heart thumping in your mouth. A very well-crafted mystery novel, this will give you the chills and make you go WOW! There are pictures, case files, and notes; the book has every ingredient to pick you up, take you inside it's pages and keep you there until you finish the story. If you love thrillers and mysteries, you simply have to have a read!

Rating: *****/5

[This review is for Random House India. The opinions are strictly my own and not been written under any obligation.]

No comments:

Post a Comment

#BookReview: The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy

On the jacket: The Ministry of Utmost Happiness  takes us on an intimate journey of many years across the Indian subcontinent, from t...